Rules Review – Embedded Ball

How do I know if it’s embedded and how can I get relief?

091212-embedded-golf-ball

If you have ever played a course that is unusually wet, chances are you’ve had one or two embedded balls.  There are a few key points to understand about embedded balls and just like most rules in the Rules of Golf, the most important point to understand is the definition.

Rule 25-2 states that “a ball is “embedded” when it is in its own pitch-mark and part of the ball is below the level of the ground. A ball does not necessarily have to touch the soil to be embedded (e.g., grass, loose impediments and the like may intervene between the ball and the soil).” There is also a very handy decision (Decision 25-2/0.5) that expands on the definition of an embedded ball.  The decision goes on to state that a ball is deemed to be embedded in the ground ONLY IF 1. the impact of the ball landing has created a pitch-mark in the ground 2. the ball is in its own pitch-mark AND 3. part of the ball is below the level of the ground.

25-2-0-5_2016

Now that we know the definition and we can determine that the ball is, in fact, embedded, we need to know how to take relief from that embedded ball. Relief is simple: the player may lift, clean and drop the ball, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green.

Your first question: do I have to mark it when I lift it?
Answer: No, but you can.  There is no harm in marking the position of the ball if you would like.

Your next question: can I clean it?
Answer: YES! And you should – it’s probably dirty!

Your last question: How close do I have to drop it to the pitch mark?
Answer: Your best bet is to try and drop that ball directly back into its pitch-mark. (If you’re able to get it back in the pitch-mark, send me a video)

Make sure to check back next week for another Rules Review!
Questions about embedded golf balls? Email Maggie.

**Note: This post does not address the difference between Rule 25-2 and the local Rule found in Appendix I that allows relief through the green for an embedded ball. Because most amateur events (and all CGA events) utilize the local Rule, this distinction was left out of this post for the purpose of clarity.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s